March 20, 2023

Messi gained the boys’s participant of the yr award after main Argentina to World Cup glory; Putella scoops greatest girls’s participant’s award.

Argentina’s World Cup-winning captain Lionel Messi has been named FIFA males’s participant of the yr whereas Spain’s Alexia Putellas, who gained the Ballon d’Or final yr, was named girls’s participant of the yr.

Messi, 35, scored two targets within the World Cup 2022 last in opposition to Francewith Argentina rising victorious on penalties.

“It is wonderful. It was an amazing yr, and it’s an honor for me to be right here tonight and win this award”, mentioned Messi on Monday, who sat subsequent to France ahead and Paris Saint-Germain teammate Kylian Mbappe all through the ceremony at Paris’s Salle Pleyel.

Mbappe, additionally nominated for the extremely anticipated award of the night time, scored a hat-trick on the earth cup last. Nonetheless, his achievement was overshadowed as Messi lastly gained essentially the most coveted trophy in world soccer.

“I need to specific my because of [coach Lionel] Scaloni and my teammates. With out them, I might not be right here,” Messi mentioned on the Finest FIFA Soccer Awards in Paris.

“I achieved a dream I had been hoping for therefore lengthy, and at last, I achieved it. It is a dream for any participant, only a few folks can obtain that, and I used to be fortunate sufficient to take action.”

FC Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas, winner of The Finest FIFA Ladies’s Participant award 2022 [Sarah Meyssonnier/Reuters]

Messi’s compatriots Scaloni and Emiliano Martinez gained the coach of the yr and keeper of the yr awards, respectively, and their supporters even received the very best followers’ prize.

England had been rewarded for his or her victorious girls’s Euro 2022 marketing campaign.

Mary Earps was named keeper of the yr, and England’s Dutch coach Sarina Wiegman obtained the accolade for greatest coach of a workforce with 4 gamers within the yr’s World XI – Beth Mead, Lucy Bronze, Leah Williamson and Keira Walsh.

Polish amputee Marcin Oleksy gained the Puskas prize for the very best aim of the yr for a spectacular acrobatic volley with Warta Poznan in opposition to Stal Rzeszow.

The winners

  • The Finest FIFA Ladies’s Participant: Alexia Putellas (Spain/FC Barcelona Femení)
  • The Finest FIFA Males’s Participant: Lionel Messi (Argentina/Paris Saint-Germain FC)
  • The Finest FIFA Ladies’s Goalkeeper: Mary Earps (England/Manchester United WFC)
  • The Finest FIFA Males’s Goalkeeper: Emiliano Martínez (Argentina/Aston Villa FC)
  • The Finest FIFA Ladies’s Coach: Sarina Wiegman (England Ladies’s Nationwide Crew)
  • The Finest FIFA Males’s Coach: Lionel Scaloni (Argentina Males’s Nationwide Crew)
  • The FIFA Puskás Award: Marcin Oleksy (Poland/Warta Poznań)
  • The FIFA Truthful Play Award: Luka Lochoshvili (Georgia/Wolfsberger AC/US Cremonese)
  • The FIFA Fan Award: Argentine Followers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *